portraiture with Andreas Neubauer

Last March, I hitched a ride to Munich to be photographed by Andreas Neubauer. I say ‘be photographed by’ rather than ‘shoot with’ or ‘model for’, because this time the whole thing really felt more like he was taking my portrait. Maybe I was modelling as myself.

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

I still behaved the same way in front of the camera as I would when modelling, but Andreas’s speciality is celebrity portraits and he persuaded me to come and do the session by drawing my attention to his impressive portfolio of portraits he has made of actors, actresses and directors, some of my favourites among them. He also persuaded me not to wear make-up, which probably affected the way I wielded my face and definitely made a difference to the appearance of the images. Andreas’s method involved keeping me on my toes from dawn till dusk for two or three days, perhaps so that eventually my true self started shining through. Oh and his method also involved not letting me see the pictures. At all. I’m sure that too had an effect on how I modelled. And he sang songs.

These pictures may look like modeling photos, and i suppose they are. They have themes and props and costumes and poses and suchlike. But they will also always feel like portraits, for me, because of the pretext and circumstances under which they were made.

  • “no photos please.”
(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

 

  • exploring the concept of clothing with myself
(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

  • “[insert deep thought here]”
(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

  • “we come in peace. shoot to kill, shoot to kill”
(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

  • some slight apprehension
(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

  • your canonical art nude leap
(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

  • my psychotically upbeat nude portrait. “allo there!”
(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

  • Aha and there is one where I’m wearing make-up because that was part of the costume: the sulky princess who’s a mess. I can’t comment on whether it’s a portrait of me or not.
(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

(c) Andreas Neubauer . Munich . March 2013

About Rebecca Tun

According to me, I like lists. View all posts by Rebecca Tun

2 responses to “portraiture with Andreas Neubauer

Leave a Reply

