a girly shoot

Hotel Estherea, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Hotel Estherea, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

When I was in Amsterdam last February, I did a shoot with a lovely lady called Yolande de Kort in a lovely lovely hotel called Hotel Estherea. Here are some iPhone snaps which I took in the lobby. Stained glass on the ceiling. Plants growing indoors. It is the embodiment of feminine happiness.

Hotel Estherea, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Hotel Estherea, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Hotel Estherea, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Hotel Estherea, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Yolande brought many treasures to the shoot: garments and jewels wondrous to behold. I felt like I was a doll and she was dressing me up. I thought…this is what it’s like to be a normal model: one whose job involves putting on clothings and bits and pieces. Here’s Yolande putting me into my little dress, and me looking like I’m 6 and it’s my birthday (picture cropped for privacy).

Hotel Estherea, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Hotel Estherea, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

And here are some of the results.

(c) Yolande de Kort . Amsterdam . February 2013

(c) Yolande de Kort . Amsterdam . February 2013

(c) Yolande de Kort . Amsterdam . February 2013

(c) Yolande de Kort . Amsterdam . February 2013

Some months later, I learned that one of the images from our shoot had been used on the cover of a French romance novel. Many of Yolande’s beautiful photos have been used on book covers as you can see on her website. I was amused to know that somewhere out there, there are women (or men) reading a steamy French erotic novel with a mental image of me as the protagonist.

image on book cover by Yolande de Kort

image on book cover by Yolande de Kort

About Rebecca Tun

According to me, I like lists. View all posts by Rebecca Tun

Leave a Reply

